

Minutes of Council

Meeting date Wednesday, 29 March 2023

Committee members

present:

Councillors David Howarth (Mayor), Chris Lomax (Deputy Mayor), Will Adams, Jacky Alty, Jane Bell, Renee Blow, Damian Bretherton, Julie Buttery, Aniela Bylinski Gelder,

Matt Campbell, Carol Chisholm, Mal Donoghue,

James Flannery, Derek Forrest, Paul Foster, Mary Green, Michael Green, Harry Hancock, Jon Hesketh, Cliff Hughes, Clare Hunter, Susan Jones, Jim Marsh, Keith Martin,

Caroline Moon, Jacqui Mort, Peter Mullineaux, Alan Ogilvie,

John Rainsbury, Colin Sharples, David Shaw, Margaret Smith, Phil Smith, Stephen Thurlbourn,

Mick Titherington, Caleb Tomlinson, Matthew Tomlinson,

Matthew Trafford, Angela Turner, Kath Unsworth, Karen Walton, Ian Watkinson, Gareth Watson,

Paul Wharton-Hardman, Carol Wooldridge and Barrie Yates

Committee members attended virtually (non-

voting):

Councillors David Suthers

Officers present: Chris Sinnott (Chief Executive), Chris Moister (Director of

Governance), Jennifer Mullin (Director of Communities), Darren Cranshaw (Head of Democratic Services), Andrew Daniels (Head of Communications and Visitor Economy) and Coral Astbury (Democratic and Member Services

Officer)

Public: 0

A video recording of the public session of this meeting is available to view on <u>You</u> Tube here

106 Apologies for absence

Apologies were received from Councillors Colin Coulton and David Suthers.

Councillor David Suthers attended the meeting virtually on Microsoft Teams.

107 Declarations of Interest

No declarations of interest were received.

108 Minutes of the last meeting

Resolved: (Unanimously)

That the minutes of the last meeting were agreed as a correct record for signing by the Mayor.

109 Mayors Announcements

The Mayor gave an update on the engagements he had carried out across the Borough since the last meeting including visiting Our Lady and St Gerard's Primary School, International Women's Day and meeting with South Ribble Youth Council.

The Mayor also thanked the Deputy Mayor for deputising at the second birthday of Read Easy Preston and at the Celebration of Scouting at Samlesbury Hall.

110 Cabinet

Members received a general report of the Cabinet meeting held on Wednesday 15 March 2023.

It was proposed by the Leader of the Council, Councillor Paul Foster, seconded by the Deputy Leader of the Council, Councillor Mick Titherington and subsequently

Resolved: (Unanimously) that the report be noted.

111 Governance Committee

Members received a general report of the Governance meeting held on Tuesday 7 March 2023.

It was proposed by the Chair of Governance Committee, Councillor Ian Watkinson, seconded by the Vice Chair of Governance Committee, Councillor Colin Sharples and subsequently

Resolved: (Unanimously) that the report be noted.

112 Scrutiny Committee

Members received a general report of the Scrutiny Committee held on Monday 20 March 2023 and the Scrutiny Budget and Performance Panel held on Monday 13 March 2023.

It was proposed by the Chair of Scrutiny Committee, Councillor Angela Turner, seconded by the Vice Chair of Scrutiny Committee, Councillor Michael Green and subsequently

Resolved: (Unanimously) that the report be noted.

113 Questions to the Leader of the Council

No questions were asked.

114 Questions to Cabinet Members

No questions were asked to Cabinet Members.

The Mayor acknowledged that a public question had been sent in for the Cabinet Member (Planning, Business Support and Regeneration) and a suitable response had been provided.

115 Presentation of long service awards

The Mayor explained that there was several awards to present in relation to long service and retiring members:

32 Years' Service

Councillor Barrie Yates

20 Years' Service

- Councillor Colin Coulton
- Councillor Derek Forrest
- Councillor Michael Green
- Councillor Peter Mullineaux

12 Years' Service

- Councillor Jane Bell
- Councillor Renee Blow
- Councillor Sue Jones
- Councillor Keith Martin
- Councillor Caroline Moon

Retiring Members:

- Councillor Renee Blow
- Councillor Derek Forrest
- Councillor Jon Hesketh
- Councillor Mick Higgins
- Councillor Cliff Hughes
- Councillor Sue Jones
- Councillor Jim Marsh
- Councillor Caroline Moon
- Councillor Jacqui Mort
- Councillor Alan Ogilvie
- Councillor Stephen Thurlbourn
- Councillor Mick Titherington
- Councillor Matthew Trafford
- Councillor Carol Wooldridge
- Councillor Barrie Yates

Group Leaders spoke and paid tribute to all members, both those with long service and retiring members.

Other members also spoke and paid tribute to their colleagues.

Mayor Date